I decided a little while ago to start looking for an alternative bit for Shah. I agree that the ‘normal’ jointed snaffle that I ride him in is not a kind bit and it has been known to not suit a lot of arabs that traditionally have small mouths and big tongues. He does a lot of head tossing and I was wondering if a new bit might help.

So, our bit journey started this week with a hired PeeWee (thank goodness you can hire bits these days, rather than having to fork out for loads of bits that might not work). It sounded good and came recommended by others so I thought why not.

But after about half an hour in the school Shah started to complain. His head tossing became worse and he was helicoptering like mad. So I got off and changed back to the snaffle. He was slightly happier but now confused. I suspect he was finding it hard with the peewee to find his sweet spot of when he gets tongue relief so started to get annoyed and just ended up head shaking badly.

This means that the bit is now returned to the box and will be on its way back to the supplier tomorrow.

Next one on the list to try: Myler. I won one on eBay today (for a great price I must say) so I decided to buy one rather than hire this time. I can always sell it again if it doesn’t work!

If that still don’t work – it’s either onto a Myler combination bit, or just stay with the snaffle and take the good with the bad!